PSHS Alumna among Metrobank Foundation Outstanding Teachers 2010

10 Aug 2010 6:48 PM | Anonymous member (Administrator)

Dr. Rowena Cristina L. Guevara, a professor at the Electrical & Electronics Engineering Institute, University of the Philippines-Diliman, recently won the Metrobank Foundation Outstanding Teachers Awards 2010 under the higher education category.

She joins nine other educators who were honored in this year’s nationwide search.  Janeth Morata-Fuentes, a teacher at the PSHS-Eastern Visayas Campus (Palo, Leyte) was also named one of the winners.

Dr. Guevara is a member of PSHS-Main Class 1980.  She was also conferred the Gawad Lagablab for Applied Engineering Sciences in 2005, a recognition given to outstanding PSHS alumni.

Dr. Guevara obtained her BS in Electrical Engineering  (1985, NSDB Scholar) and MS in Electrical Engineering (1990) at UP Diliman with postgraduate studies at University of Michigan, Ann Arbor (1997, NSDB-ESEP Scholar). She also pursued her post-doctoral studies at Tokyo  Institute of Technology (1998) and University of California, Berkeley (2001).

She served as Dean of UP College of Engineering from July 2004 to July 2010, the youngest and first woman to be appointed to this position.

The PSHS National Alumni Association would like to congratulate Dr. Guevara for this outstanding achievement! The PSHS community is truly proud of you.

Admin Building, PSHS Main Campus, Diliman, Quezon City, Philippines
Tel: (632) 468 6717    

Powered by Wild Apricot. Try our all-in-one platform for easy membership management